Let’s Talk About Frozen Pizza

So yesterday I posted about my meal plan for the coming week. I planned to make a couple of frozen pizzas from scratch. I’ve done this a few of times before but I wanted to do the math this time to determine if it was really worth my time to save a few bucks. I mean frozen pizzas are cheap already right?*

I made three pizzas, two pepperoni and pesto and one tex-mex-ish, and here are the ingredients:

  • 600g all purpose flour – $0.42
  • 20g yeast – $0.32
  • 30g olive oil – $0.30**
  • Few shakes seasoning – $0.20**
  • 4 tablespoons pesto – $0.50
  • 200g pepperoni – $2.20
  • 150g mozzarella – $1.50
  • 250g ground pork – $3.75**
  • 200g homemade refried beans – $0.50
  • 5 tablespoons salsa – $0.25
  • 150g cheddar cheese – $1.50

 

attach80612_20160916_192139

Total cost of ingredients: $11.44, ~$1.63 per serving

Total time to make: 1.5 hours (including kitchen cleanup)

Number of servings: 3 pizzas, each serves 2-3 people

Pizzas in the frozen section seem to go from $5-7 or so. So did I save some money? A little bit, plus no weird ingredients and I can calculate the calories with certainty (238 per slice of the pepperoni and 337 of the tex mex in case you were wondering). It took and hour and a half of my life though. Luckily I enjoy cooking and I get lots of satisfaction of projects like this one. I think I will keep doing this! Although I might switch to vegetarian pizzas to get a better ROI of my time.

 

*I was feeling exceptionally lazy a few weeks ago and almost ordered a pizza like a normal person but that would have been $40 out of my $125 grocery budget and I’m definitely not normal about my grocery budget.

** I’m guessing on these prices.

Leave me a Comment!

