A Very Scottish Thanksgiving

I threw myself a Thanksgiving Party since this past weekend was Canadian Thanksgiving. I don’t know any Canadians here so I invited the girls from my program as well my roommates who are all international students as well. The party was a total success! Everyone was incredibly kind and enthusiastic! I had a blast and I’m pretty sure everyone else did as well. 
 


Leftovers I gave away

The menu was:

  • Chips and dip (Thanks Nikki!)
  • Mulled Apple Cider (cloudy apple juice warmed with some spices)
  • Turkey (of course!) done very simply
  • Fruit and Nut stuffing
  • Green Beans with hazelnuts
  • Carrots with mint (no recipe, just boiled carrots tossed with some butter and a little mint)
  • Cranberry Sort-of-Sauce (no recipe cause it didn’t turn out so great)
  • Homemade Bread (I actually used my grandmother’s bread recipe but this is pretty close)
  • Pumpkin Pie
  • Apple Pie
  • Pecan Pie (Contributed by Julie!)
  • Cupcakes (Contributed by Charley!)

A special thank you to those who contributed to the meal as well as those who simply contributed their company!

4 thoughts on “A Very Scottish Thanksgiving

  1. How did you do your turkey? I made a big 20lb for the Friendsgiving pot-luck I went. I felt tons of pressure because lots of my friends are big burly men, but I stuffed a 24oz of Heiniken cut open like a single cereal box into the cavity (which also resulted in beer gravy). I cooked the bird breast down which was amazing. (Never cooking it breast up again.)

Leave me a Comment!

