Glasgow Cathedral and the Necropolis

So since I have nothing to do until classes start on Monday I spent the afternoon exploring Glasgow Cathedral and the Necropolis. I really enjoyed myself! It was a quiet solitary afternoon which suited my temperment perfectly. Glasgow Cathedral is the oldest building in Glasgow and parts of it date reliably back to the 13th century. St. Kentigern (commonly known as St. Mungo for some reason) is the patron saint of Glasgow and he is buried in the Cathedral.

I took a bunch of pictures with my little Canon point-and-shoot and the lighting is a little odd since is was such a sunny day and I don’t know how to use a camera properly. Still I think the Cathedral is a beautiful building and I hope you can see that in my pictures.

 

This is the regimental flag for the 1st Regiment of Scottish Footguards and dates to 1810. They had the king’s colours from the same on the other side of the door. They’re in pretty poor shape being silk and all. I honestly couldn’t tell how they were mounted but since I didn’t see much in the way of support stitches I’m pretty sure they were mounted with adhesives. I pity the poor textile conservator who has to deal with that someday!

I just thought this was funny. I wish some of my fellow students at the university would create a plaque for me just out of "spontaneous affection"!

This and the folowing pictures were taken in the lower church level partially underground.

There is a beautiful collection of stained glass here. I don’t know much about stained glass but some of them are medieval I believe while others are much more modern. Definitely check it out if you’re interested in stained glass windows.

I have no idea was the writing on the pillar says except for the date – 1829. I thought this was odd so I took a picture. Nice logic huh?

This was my favourite spot in the cathedral. I already forget the name of this aisle but it was so light and airy, especially for being mostly underground. There was still some lingering inscence when I was there.

All the stained glass in this aisle was realting to the nativity story. I could just imagine it all decorated and lit up for Christmas.

Ceiling bosses.

More ceiling bosses.

 

After the cathedral I went to the St. Mungo museum of religious life and art. I didn’t enjoy the museum very much. I found they presented their objects in a very souless way, probably in order to reamin impartial, but the exhibits really lost a lot of meaning. I especialy didn’t enjoy the exhibit on religious life. Generally I don’t have a problem with religion, feeling that it has the potential to motivate people in postitive ways, however all I got out of this exhibit was darkness. There was no expression of joy just of negativity and supersition. On top of that it was presented so matter-of-factly that it was, as I said, souless. I was especially disturbed by an image they had illustrating female genital mutiliation – and while it was not graphic it was still horrifying. And it was just stuck there in their section on "coming-of-age"! Such a mild name for such a turbulent period of life. It also didn’t help that the hall where this exhibit was placed was painted black and as you enter you are greeted by a grining flourscent Voodoo skeleton. I definitely wouldn’t recommend it.

I did however linger in the cafe area and had a cup of tea in their rock garden. I sewed leisurely on my new regency cap and listened to an audiobook. I’ve mentally book marked that cafe as one to return to later. Even as the weather cools it looks like it would be nice to sit inside awhile. It was very relaxing!

I have a few pictures of the Necropolis but I think there been enough darkness for one post! I’ll post them later.

Now what shall I do tomorrow?

One thought on “Glasgow Cathedral and the Necropolis

Leave me a Comment!

