Life Update

So it’s been forever and a day since I’ve posted anything but I’m in a sharing mood tonight so here goes:

-I’m graduating! Very soon! Well it feels that way anyway. I double and triple checked with everybody that the courses I picked over the past four years were the right ones. I was never quite sure until I got the email from the resgistrar’s office confirming it. My odd combination of majors resulted in more than one substituted course over the years and my undergrad advisers had no clue beyond the very specific individual majors and were utterly unhelpful with my “big picture”; questions. In any case all has turned out for the best and I’m on my way to convocation

-I’m applying to two grad schools, Queens and UAlberta. They both have their advantages and disadvantages. Queen’s is definitely the program to break me into the conservation field here in Ontario. It is well known and recognized as essentially the only choice and as such is supported when it comes to internships and such. It offers only minimal textile content however, with textiles only covered as one topic in one course. I would be spending another 2 years studying topics similar to textile conservation but not quite getting into the nitty gritty of the field. UAlberta on the other had usually offers textile conservation as an option however their conservator recently left so now there’s no one on staff to supervise me. They have a great textile collection and the way the program is set up would allow me to study a great variety of topics like dress history alongside conservation science. But unless they get another conservator in or offer another solution I’m kind of stuck.

-It may be that grad school just isn’t in the cards for me for next year but I’m going to make it happen eventually one way or another. It might be for the best that I work for a year prior to launching myself into tens of thousands of dollars of debt. Which means I need to start job hunting right about now. Ideally I could find a government job or something that pays better than minimum wage. I’m less interested in experience this summer than I am in saving up some money for school. My parents are happy to welcome me back home so at least I don’t have to worry about living arrangements for a little while.

-School continues with some new challenges in the form of a directed study with an archaeology prof and a really cool course on medieval scribal culture. Sewing continues with an 1880’s corset and soon-to-be bustle dress based off of one in the Victoria and Albert Museum. After that I think I’ll be turning my attention to a regency ensemble which would hopefully be ready in time for the 2012 anniversary of the war of 1812, not that I’m reenacting or anything, it’s just an excuse for a new dress!

And there, my dear (and few) readers I will leave you. It’s way past my bedtime so I should pack things up. Wish me luck!

Leave me a Comment!

