New Corset!

I’m making an 18th century corset. Oh and I’m hand sewing the whole thing! It will be three layers of linen: a blue-gray for the outer layer and white for the interlining and lining. I also got my hands on some thin leather to bind the edges with. Its a bit yellow for my taste so I’m going to see if I can bleach it a little.

Here you can see all the pieces laid out. There’s ten individual pieces. I’m going to add the boning to each piece and then sew them together. This method should allow me to adjust it once its fully boned. It’s going to be both front and back lacing. I haven’t made a front-lacing corset before so this is a new endeavor! Hopefully it will work out.

Leave me a Comment!

